Summerlin Report – March 2021

March 3, 2021

I want to start this month’s report by thanking everyone who joined the College of Medicine last month for our Community Town Hall, “GENESIS: Education for Tomorrow’s Healthcare.” It was a pleasure for Dr. Luther Brewster and me to share the College of Medicine’s vision for how Roseman University and our partners in the Las Vegas community can transform patient care and serve our most vulnerable populations. If you missed the presentation, I invite you to view it here.

Also last month, thanks to the hard work of our College of Medicine team, we brought together many notable guests to record episodes of my new podcast “No Laughing Matter with Cuba Pete.” This podcast, available on your favorite podcast platform and on YouTube, introduces some of Las Vegas’ and the nation’s most respected thought leaders to talk about a variety of topics, including medical education, community engagement and health equity. The first episode premiered this week and features Las Vegas Councilman Cedric Crear and guest co-host Dr. Cheryl Brewster. It was a pleasure speaking with Councilman Crear whose ward includes many of Las Vegas’ most underserved residents. We discussed the unique medical and social needs of his ward’s high-risk residents and his plan to promote positive change. I invite you to listen, watch and share the episode, and subscribe to hear more.

Upcoming episodes feature members of the College of Medicine leadership and include guests Ebony Underwood, Founder and CEO of We Got Us Now, the first-of-its-kind nonprofit, nonpartisan advocacy organization amplifying the issues children and young adults with incarcerated parents face due to mass incarceration; Spencer Haywood, NBA Champion and Naismith Hall of Famer; and Soledad O’Brien, award-winning journalist, speaker, author and philanthropist who anchors and produces the Hearst Television political magazine program “Matter of Fact with Soledad O’Brien.”

Until next month, I wish you the best.

Dr. Pedro “Joe” Greer, Jr.
Dean, College of Medicine
Roseman University of Health Sciences