Roseman University’s Dental Medicine Program in Utah receives CODA accreditation

SOUTH JORDAN, Utah – November 30, 2015 – At its August 2015 meeting, the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) granted Roseman University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine-South Jordan the accreditation status of “approval without reporting requirements”.

“Faculty, staff, and students in the DMD program have worked hard since the program’s inception to ensure that we were able to meet the rigorous requirements of the accreditation process, and we are pleased that the Commission’s accreditation process recognized the quality of our DMD program,” said Dr. Frank Licari, dean of the College of Dental Medicine-South Jordan.

Roseman University’s DMD program submitted its Application for Initial Accreditation to CODA in September 2010, approximately one year before enrolling the first class of DMD students, and hosted an accreditation site visit in March 2011. At that time CODA granted a status of “initial accreditation”, a common step in the accreditation process for new dental programs.

CODA conducted a second site visit when the program was in its second year, and a third visit—the most recent—just prior to the graduation of the inaugural class in June 2015. The site visit team then presented their findings to the full Commission at a subsequent meeting. The Commission will conduct follow-up site reviews every seven years.

Having an accredited DMD program is critical for ensuring that graduates are able to meet the requirements to obtain professional licensure in the dental field or to study in dental specialty programs throughout the U.S.

“Receiving accreditation is a very important step in validating the quality and success of our Doctor of Dental Medicine program,” said Dr. Martin Lipsky, chancellor of Roseman University’s South Jordan campus. “Not only did they receive accreditation, but they accomplished it without any recommendations or additional reporting requirements, which is remarkable for a new school. I commend all the faculty and staff for their work to ensure that the program achieved this important milestone.”

Roseman University of Health Sciences is also regionally accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU).

The Commission is a specialized accrediting body recognized by the United States Department of Education. You can find more information about CODA on the American Dental Association’s website at

About Roseman University of Health Sciences

Founded in 1999, Roseman University of Health Sciences is a private, non-profit institution of higher education with campuses in Henderson and Summerlin, Nev. and South Jordan, Utah. The university offers degrees for Doctor of Medicine (MD, currently in development), Advanced Education in Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics/MBA (AEODO/MBA), Doctor of Dental Medicine (DMD), Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD), Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (ABSN), and Master in Business Administration (MBA). Roseman is regionally accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities and is an equal opportunity institution. For more information, visit

#  #  #