Roseman University Professor Honored by ACCP

katherine smithDr. Katherine Smith, Director of Continuing Education and Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice at Roseman University was recently elected as one of 24 Fellows of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP).

Dr. Smith was nominated for consideration as an ACCP Fellow by her colleagues, then underwent a rigorous and comprehensive evaluation by the 35-member Credentials: Fellowship Committee. The evaluation process included a review of both practice and research accomplishments, using criteria that includes:

  • Patient care service
  • Educational programs developed
  • Certifications or other credentials earned
  • Drug therapy management responsibilities
  • Educational presentations
  • Consulting work
  • Service to publications
  • Original research presentations, projects, funding, and publications
  • Other professional activities and awards

In addition to reviewing nominees’ contributions in these areas, an ACCP Fellow must have made a substantial contribution to the ACCP by giving presentations at meetings sponsored by the College; providing service and participating in activities such as the ACCP Clinical Pharmacy Challenge, Pharmacotherapy Mock Exam, and Research Institute; contributing to publications such as Pharmacotherapy; or serving as a PRN officer, chapter officer, or in another elected position.

Only 24 total individuals are ultimately selected, having shown a sustained level of excellence in clinical pharmacy practice and/or research.

Other 2015 ACCP Fellows include:

  • Mary G. Amato, Pharm.D., MPH, BCPS; Boston, MA
  • Christina L. Aquilante, Pharm.D.; Aurora, CO
  • Debra J. Barnette, Pharm.D., BCPS, BCACP; Grove City, OH
  • Eli N. Deal, Pharm.D., BCPS; St. Louis, MO
  • David L. DeRemer, Pharm.D., BCOP; Evans, GA
  • Michael P. Dorsch, Pharm.D., M.S., BCPS; Ann Arbor, MI
  • Christopher K. Finch, Pharm.D., BCPS; Memphis, TN
  • E. Kelly Hester, Pharm.D., BCPS; Auburn, AL
  • Michelle Hilaire, Pharm.D., BCPS; Ft. Collins, CO
  • Cherry W. Jackson, Pharm.D., BCPP; Birmingham, AL
  • Douglas L. Jennings, Pharm.D., BCPS; New York, NY
  • Kerry L. LaPlante, Pharm.D.; Providence, RI
  • Kristy Lucas, Pharm.D.; Charleston, WV
  • Dianne W. May, Pharm.D., BCPS; North Augusta, SC
  • Carrie S. Oliphant, Pharm.D., BCPS; Lakeland, TN
  • Asad Patanwala, Pharm.D., BCPS; Tucson, AZ
  • R. Chris Rathbun, Pharm.D., BCPS, Oklahoma City, OK
  • Shaunta’ M. Ray, Pharm.D., BCPS; Knoxville, TN
  • Daniel M. Riche, Pharm.D., BCPS; Madison, MS
  • Todd D. Sorensen, Pharm.D.; Minneapolis, MN
  • Michael C. Thomas, Pharm.D., BCPS; Longmeadow, MA
  • Benjamin Van Tassell, Pharm.D., BCPS; Midlothian, VA
  • Joseph P. Vande Griend, Pharm.D., BCPS; Denver, CO

The 2015 ACCP Fellows were recognized at a special ceremony on October 18 at the ACCP Global Conference on Clinical Pharmacy in San Francisco, Calif.